Solar Power Boost For Volunteer Community Groups

Volunteer community groups will soon be saving thousands of dollars on energy costs by installing solar PV systems at no cost, thanks to the Andrews Labor Government.

Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio announced the latest beneficiaries of the $9.2 million Solar on Public Buildings program which helps put solar systems on public land community buildings run by volunteer committees of management.

The program is making sites such as community halls and sports and recreation facilities more sustainable by reducing carbon emissions and operating costs so they can continue to be used by local communities for years to come.

The program is being rolled out across the state over the next two years, providing an economic boost to local energy auditors and installers.

Nearly 200 energy audits − the first step in the design of a solar system − have been carried out on selected sites around the state.

An energy monitoring system will be integrated into the design to manage solar system performance in real time and battery installations will be considered for some sites.

The program was first trialled in Gippsland from 2017 to 2019 and led to solar systems being installed on 69 public buildings on public land, reducing power bills by an average of 81 per cent.

Other regions which will benefit from the program soon include the Grampians, Hume, Loddon Mallee, Port Phillip and Barwon South West.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio

“This is a great example of how we’re delivering real action on climate change in regional Victoria by investing in local projects that will help communities build thriving and sustainable futures.”

“This is a terrific outcome for the community, the environment and our hardworking volunteer committees which are the backbone of small communities across Victoria.”

“Our strong investment in renewable energy and solar panels is creating local jobs, reducing power bills and helping us achieve our ambitious emissions reduction targets.”

Grant recipients 

  • Amphitheatre Mechanics Institute Hall in Amphitheatre
  • Ballan Racecourse and Recreation Reserve in Ballan
  • Barkly Public Hall and Recreation Reserve in Barkly
  • Barmah Community Hall in Barmah
  • Barnawartha Recreation Reserve in Barnawartha
  • Buxton Memorial Hall Reserve in Buxton
  • Byrneside Public Hall in Byrnside
  • Cheshunt Hall and Recreation Reserve in Cheshunt
  • Chiltern Park Recreation Reserve in Chiltern Park
  • Eskdale Rec Reserve in Eskdale
  • Everton Upper Community Centre in Everton
  • Fawcett Mechanics Reserve Hall in Fawcett
  • Freeburgh Recreation and Public Hall in Freeburgh
  • Mongans Bridge Caravan Park Camping Reserve in Mongans Bridge
  • Moyhu Recreation Reserve in Moyhu
  • Murchison Caravan Park in Murchison
  • Myrtleford Recreation Reserve Sports Complex and Golf Club in Myrtleford
  • Sandy Creek Hall & Recreation Reserve in Sandy Creek
  • Tarrawingee Community Hall in Tarrawingee
  • Tatong Memorial Hall in Tatong
  • Undera Recreation Reserve in Undera
  • Murrabit Recreation Reserve Committee of Management in Murrabit
  • Nyah District Memorial Hall in Nyah
  • Ouyen Golf Course in Ouyen
  • Elmore Recreation Reserve in Elmore
  • Rushworth Community House in Rushworth
  • Gordon Recreation Reserve in Gordon
  • Cora Lynn Recreation Reserve Netball Club in Cora Lynn
  • Tonimbuk East Hall in Tonimbuk
  • Tynong Hall in Tynong
  • Upper Beaconsfield Community Centre Creche and Hall in Upper Beaconsfield
  • South Melbourne Temperance Hall in South Melbourne
  • Kywong Caravan Park in Kywong
  • The Old Courthouse in Casterton
  • Port Campbell Recreation Reserve Community Hall in Port Campbell
  • Tyrendarra Recreation Reserve Sports Pavilion in Tyrendarra

Related Topics

Download PDF