New EPA Governance Board Finalised

Minister for Environment Lily D’Ambrosio today announced the remaining appointments to the new Environment Protection Authority (EPA) governing board.

The board members bring a wide range of skills and knowledge to their roles and will be pivotal to implementing the Andrews Labor Government’s EPA reform agenda.

Chair of the governing board, Ms Cheryl Batagol, will lead an eight-person board, that will comprise:

  • Mr Greg Tweedly (Deputy Chair)
  • Professor Joan Ozanne-Smith
  • Mr Graeme Ford
  • Professor Rebekah Brown
  • Ross Pilling
  • Ms Monique Conheady
  • Ms Debra Russell.

Ms Batagol has been Chair of the EPA – under the current governing structure – since 2009 and brings more than 40 years’ experience in waste management, water and environment sectors to the position.

The Board, which comes into operation from 1 July, will lead the EPA in implementing its response to the Independent Inquiry into the EPA.

The appointment process was also another step forward in delivering on the Labor Government’s goal of achieving 50 per cent female representation on boards.

The Labor Government has invested over $180 million to transform the EPA into a modern regulator that will protect Victoria’s environment now and into the future.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Environment, Energy and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio

“This board has a fantastic cross section of experience and knowledge to help us implement our vital reforms to the EPA.”

“We’re making sure Victoria’s EPA is equipped with the people, powers and resources it needs to do its job and protect Victoria’s environment.”

Download PDF