Media Release

The Hon Lily D'Ambrosio MP

Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Minister for Solar Homes



Thursday, 9 May 2019

FINALISTS OF RESOURCESMART SCHOOL AWARDS ANNOUNCED

Schools across Victoria are being recognised for their efforts to reduce waste and protect the environment as part of the annual *ResourceSmart School Awards*.

The Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change, Lily D'Ambrosio, has officially announced the finalists for 2019, congratulating them for 'contributing to a better place' – the theme for this year's awards.

The ResourceSmart Schools Awards are Victoria's largest sustainability awards program and recognise schools across the state who are leading the way in minimising waste, saving energy and water, increasing biodiversity and tackling climate change.

The awards shine a spotlight on the incredible work that Victorian schools are doing to make a positive impact on the environment and shape the state of the future.

The Andrews Labor Government's ResourceSmart Schools program is offered by Sustainability Victoria and has engaged more than 1,300 schools across the state to collectively save over \$24 million and avoid creating more than 60,000 tonnes of greenhouse gases.

Winners will be announced at the ResourceSmart School Awards ceremony at the MCG in Melbourne on 13 June.

For more information, visit sustainability.vic.gov.au/schoolsawards.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D'Ambrosio

"The finalists in this year's ResourceSmart School Awards are a wonderful mix of schools that are doing their bit to create a better place for future generations to come."

"Congratulations to all the finalists for the fantastic work they are doing to contribute to sustainability in Victoria."

Media contact: Jamila Fontana 0409 741 279 | elwpmedia@minstaff.vic.gov.au

Media Release

The Hon Lily D'Ambrosio MP

Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Minister for Solar Homes



2019 ResourceSmart Schools Awards – Finalists

Category	Finalists (by alphabetical order)
School of the Year	Carrum Primary School (Carrum)
	Colbinabbin Primary School (Colbinabbin)
	St Columba's Primary School (Elwood)
Campus Infrastructure and Operations School of the Year	Beaconhills College (Pakenham)
	Camberwell Grammar (Camberwell)
	Seabrook Primary School (Seabrook)
Teacher of the Year (Primary)	Glenn Jepson, Kunyung Primary School (Mount Eliza)
	Jo-anne Wembridge, Werribee Primary School (Werribee)
	Vanessa Smith, Truganina South Primary School (Truganina)
Teacher of the Year (Secondary)	Jacqui Godfrey, Ringwood Secondary College (Ringwood)
	Timothy Thompson, Mount Lilydale Mercy College (Lilydale)
	Venkata Kalva, Brentwood Secondary College (Glen Waverley)
Student Action Team of the Year (Primary)	Mentone Primary School (Mentone)
	Moorabbin Primary School (Moorabbin Primary School)
	Truganina South Primary School (Truganina)
Student Action Team of the Year (Secondary)	Brentwood Secondary College (Glen Waverley)
	Nossal High School (Berwick)
	Ringwood Secondary College (Ringwood)
Community Leadership School of the Year (Primary)	Carrum Primary School (Carrum)
	St Macartan's Parish Primary School (Mornington)
	Warrnambool East Primary School (Warrnambool)
Community leadership School of the Year (Secondary)	Covenant College (Bell Post Hill)
	Footscray City College (Footscray)
	Melbourne Girls College (Richmond)
Curriculum Leadership School of the Year (Primary)	Moorabbin Primary School (Moorabbin)
	St Aloysius Primary School (Queenscliff)
	St Louis de Montforts Primary School (Aspendale)
Curriculum Leadership School of the Year (Secondary)	Kyneton Secondary College (Kyneton)
	Ringwood Secondary College (Ringwood)