Victorian Early Years Awards Nominations Now Open

Nominations for the Victorian Early Years Awards are now open, and it’s time for Victorians to nominate their most innovative, inspiring and dedicated early years teachers, educators, organisations and programs.

The Awards are now in their 19th year and celebrate the outstanding work of early childhood professionals and services, recognising their roles in improving the health, wellbeing, learning and development of children from birth to 8 years.

Minister for Children Lizzie Blandthorn today encouraged early childhood professionals and organisations, families and members of the community to submit their nominations.

This year, the awards will celebrate leadership, outstanding achievements, dedication and innovation across nine categories.

This includes creating collaborative community partnerships, improving access and participation, and promoting children’s health and wellbeing.

Outstanding individual contributions to early childhood outcomes will be recognised through the prestigious Early Childhood Teacher and Early Childhood Educator of the Year awards, while outstanding educational leadership will be celebrated through the Emeritus Professor Collette Tayler Excellence in Educational Leadership Award.

Early childhood services that incorporate Aboriginal perspectives and support Aboriginal children and families will also be recognised through the Aunty Rose Bamblett Koorie Early Years Legacy Award.

All winners will receive $15,000 to further develop their initiatives and share the learnings of their approaches, or to support their professional development. Finalists from the 9 categories will also be considered for the prestigious Minister’s Award, selected by Minister for Children Lizzie Blandthorn.

Nominations for the Victorian Early Years Awards close on Thursday 13 June, with finalists announced in August. For more information or to submit a nomination, visit